This page contains:


Please add your own comments to this page


If you would like to add your comments to this page, please email them to: feedback@AnvilStudio.com



Industry Awards




Anvil Studio ranked #16 out of 4500 titles.




Anvil Studio has received TuCows "4 Cows" award.




Anvil Studio has received a 5-Star award.


Best Software 4 Download

5 stars - reviewed by Best Software 4 Download




Anvil Studio has received a 5-star award.




Anvil Studio has received an Editor's Choice award.




Anvil Studio has received an Outstanding award.





Anvil Studio is now available on the 100 Top Downloads CD distributed by Elettro Inc.

"Willow Software is one of my favorite software companies on the 100 Top Downloads CDs, 4 stars for them, their software is worth trying," proclaims Dean Palermo, President and CEO of Elettro Inc., the makers of the 100 Top Downloads.





Für die Musiker unter euch ein nützliches Tool. (translation: For the musicians among you a useful tool.)





At last - a free composition program. And what's more - it's great. Anvil studio is a comprehensive composer for MIDI and WAV songs, although the free version has very limited WAV support. You can play the song on the keyboard in different modes and see the results on the scale of notes or edit them directly. Connection with external MIDI synthesizer is also supported. While Anvil Studio has enough advanced features to keep experienced composers satisfied it is the beginners who will benefit most from the loving care Willow Software have taken to ensure Anvil is easy to use. Firstly there is the help, which is almost always on-screen and acts much like a tutorial, then there are the practice modes and links to useful web-resources. Anvil Studio is simply superb - and as freeware it would be an insult not to download it.





5 Stars Awarded on x64bitdownload.com




CNET Editors' Rating - Very Good
Editors' Review

By being able to craft just about every element of the song, including lyrics and multiple instrumental layers, Anvil Studio makes it almost too easy to compose songs. Its interface isn't very attractive, but with great user guidance and a wealth of features, it's an awesome app for any musician.

Despite being loaded with features, this program downloads really quickly and is light by most standards. Anvil Studio has a great tutorial that opens when you get inside. It's helpful for finding all of the program's cool features, but it doesn't make you click through endless pages before you can get started. Starting your composition is as easy as clicking a few notes on the keyboard. Once they're on the staff, you can move them, draw lyrics over them and even make them harmonize with other notes. There are more than 40 instruments to use and each one can be layered over other sounds so you can get a better idea of what the finished product will sound like. If you don't know a ton about music theory, you might feel a little overwhelmed at the amount of options. Though the program's interface is stuck in the XP era, it makes it easy to surf through the vast number of features and tweaks this program offers.

Having more features than you can use in a sitting is a really good problem to have. No matter what your level of expertise, Anvil Studio offers a wonderful tool to help you compose music. It's a great learning resource, as well.



Magazine Reviews

Jeffry Thurana writing for the May 2011 issue of MakeUseOf

...After playing with the application for a while, I think that Anvil Studio is a very capable music builder. If you are an electronic musician looking for Window's GarageBand, Anvil Studio could serve as an alternative...




William G. Wong writing for the December 2000 issue of Laptop magazine.

Those new to audio editing should look at Willow Software's Anvil Studio...
It's a very good tool with a nice tutorial interface...
The strength of the program is in its MIDI support. It handles all MIDI features with ease...
This application is great for new users...
If you have never used a MIDI editing program before, pick up Anvil Studio. There is no other one like it.
Even if you have experience, check out this program's features.



Robin Vincent writing for the May 2000 issue of Computer Music Magazine

Consider Anvil Studio from Willow Software, it's an integrated MIDI and audio recording program The evaluation program offers unlimited MIDI and a single track of audio. This can be expanded to 8 tracks audio for a registration fee of only 19 dollars. The MIDI editing is score based and has a full MIDI event list. Help files are automatically displayed in the background so you always know where are and the program contains the odd cool feature like music reading exercises and MIDI programmer where you can wire up MIDI functions to create effects. It also supports any DirectX plug-ins. It works, it's great and it's 19 dollars.



2009/06 issue of the German print magazine Beat Willow Software Anvil Studio
Google Automated Translation:
Sequencer "Anvil Studio" is a freely available sequencer extensive capabilities for recording and editing MIDI and audio data. The application each offers a notation, text, piano roll and drum-Editor and many editing functions for audio files, loops and MIDI events. MIDI notes can thereby taken with a keyboard or be entered using the computer keyboard. Thanks to the extensive MIDI-editing functions, the editing of the data is a breeze. The audio options are impressive. For recording all sound sources are available, the sound card supports, with a "Punch In" - and a mix down function can be offered. As per audio effects are a native reverb and equalizer available. In addition to DirectX effects of Third-party manufacturers to load. Anvil Studio supports MIDI and file formats WAV and offers some ways to the Arbeitsfl uss adapt to your needs. This allows keyboard shortcuts defi ned itself and the transport functions MIDI controllers can be controlled. A built-in help also facilitates entry into the sequencer. The free version of the program used to create an unlimited number of MIDI tracks as well as a one-minute audio track. A significant expansion the audio functions enables the "multi-audio 1/8 option, which referred to $19 from the developer can be. One of the biggest highlights is safe support for VST instruments and effects third party. Conclusion While the free version first and foremost as a simple, recommended but powerful MIDI sequencer is to cover the pay parking portant variant of Anvil Studio all the basic functions of a modern sequencer from. Both versions are distinguished by their ease of entry, even when Outdoor surface looks a little stale and the operation of the programs sometimes a bit complicated.






Comments from Anvil Studio users


If you would like to add your comments or video links to this page, please email them to: feedback@AnvilStudio.com


Have been using Anvil Studio now over half year and after careful study of what I need and how I want to operate, ended upgrading my free version of Anvil Studio to Works version. Studied all major programs like Reason, Cakewalk, Ableton, Pro Tools, Logic, FL Studio, Cubase.

Main reason for selecting Anvil Studio was that I am still learning to play and have been succefully using Composer view for "typing" notes and that way learning them and as well timing of notes. Value for money is on my opinion best in Anvil Studio. Having Composer, Piano Roll, Tabulature (yes, I play also guitar), rhythm tracks and audio tracks there are all major functionalities as "bigger" brands. I use multible MIDI units and having possibility for multitrack recording is currently next items to work more.

As beginner I valued also Practise and Excersices high and now I am re-organizing my studio to have large display in front of keyboard. Upgrading Anvil Studio also pushed forward my purchase of new Audio Interface (8-16 input). Final decision is not made but will be soon.

Thanks for taking care and making an good product. Keep developing and pricing affordable.
With best regards,
Jouni Hirvenkivi - Finland


You guys rock !!
It works like a charm. I bought the Audio add-on (it’s about time I expanded my scope of Anvil – just needed the time to learn – downloaded the latest versions this morning, converted the MIDI file to WAV as is, then converted the WAV file to MP3. Took less than 5 minutes once I was set up, and the MP3 plays exactly as the MIDI does. That frees me up to use better Sound players in Android on my tablet. As I said Android’s MIDI players are terrible.
You are awesome support. I have bragged about you to everyone I talk to. Unfortunately, most musicians will not take the time to do their own thing, pretending to understand what they do not. The few who do take the time are impressed with what they hear.
Thanks for making life easier. Next time I run into a snag, I’ll tap into you again, but I think I have everything I need right now.
Great job, buddy. Use me as a referral any time.
Dave McEwen


I am in a virtual band with a buddy from high school that I used to play with. He is in Seattle and I am in Reno, we have not seen each other in almost 20 years. I found him on Facebook and we decided to do a music project over the Internet. He plays bass and has another friend of his that plays guitar in Porterville, CA. My buddy and the guitar player write tracks in Protools sending them back and forth until they have something for me to put drums to. We use Dropbox to transfer large WAV files on line. I import the wav file into Anvil Studio, create a click track that matches the tempo and record midi drums using my Roland electric drum kit. I do extensive editing after the orginal drum track is laid down because I am really anal about my performance and midi makes it really easy to fix things. When I am satisfied I separate each drum to its own track and send the midi file through email which is only a few kb in size. My buddy has a Superior Drummer kit all mapped up to my settings and he just has to import the midi file and do some mixing and bam we have a complete tune. I have actually recorded an entire album this way with my local band and am very happy with the results.
Scott Taylor


Just thought I would show you what your program is being used for: Steampunk Piano Forte Schoenhut Auto Klavier
The MIDI activates lights and the mechanics. I put solenoids into the piano so the keys would play. Music support is made from the synths in your program and played with the MIDI.
Thank You
Ken Glaza - K&R Digital Media Production


Briefly, what we are doing is creating a hymnal. We are a small church and believe that music should not overshadow the message of hymn. To that end, our pianist (who is not a composer) has been successful at composing several melodies for hymns that did not have very good music for them. Your software enables her to adjust notes and work with the melody at a level that would be impossible otherwise. You software enables me to adjust timings and check how the melodies sound when we find music that might be suitable. I can change the instrumentation (to piano) and listen to it a various timings to see what would be best at emphasizing the message of the hymn. Your software allows us to adjust where we need to, and often is the determining factor as to whether the music will ever be acceptable. We have discarded melodies because we just could not get them to sound right no matter what. All of this we do at minimal cost -- because of your very generous decision to make the base package free to use. As far as I am concerned, we owe you somewhat more than what we paid for the software thus far. I am going to (as I do now), prominently mention Anvil Studio in the citation of the hymns, and in the hymnal. At this point, we are about 28 hymns away from having all the hymns we require for publishing the hymnal. Please understand, I have long experience in using software of all types. I have been disappointed by a number of software packages that could not do what they promised. By you allowing the free use of the base package, I have been able to evaluate it and prove out Anvil Studio. Initially, I just played with it and found it interesting. I learned that it could make what seemed to be bad music sound good simply by changing timings and instruments. However, it was our pianist that found its real usefulness in editing individual notes and composing melodies. Anvil Studio is invaluable to us.

I must tell you that Anvil Studio shares in enabling us to do what we are doing at a reasonable cost.
Thank you,
Paul Davis


Just a heads up. Anvil is the 1 midi editing program that actually runs on my windows 8.
I tried 3 microsoft editors, 1 worked midiyoda, it was like for kids. Sonar LE is a bag of s**t, Audacity sucks, on & on.
All I know is I installed Anvil, it corrected my setting and it ran. good job.
J. Dickel


Best composition software out there, easy to understand, fast to interact with, fully loaded, operates on high resolution, I've done lots with just Anvil Studio and WavLab.
Robert Craig Johnston


Anvil Studio is a superb free tool for writing, modifying and playing MIDI music. Compose on the musical stave, piano keyboard or guitar fret. Download and modify MIDI files from the web.
University of Southampton - School of Electronics and Computer Science - National Science and Engineering Week 2012


I would like to add that I have been using Anvil Studio since 2006 and I find it an excellent program and regularly advertise it in the Alt.binaries MIDI and Karaoke newsgroups. I bought the propack at $99 last year in order to help with sequencing which it has considerably. I have so far produced 1,000s of MIDI files using Anvil.
Geoffrey Carter


First let me say a big thank you for the free version! Since 2009, I have been using Anvil Studio to compose multitrack .MID songs. This has taught me a great deal of music theory and increased my proficiency in reading and writing musical notation. I play guitar, a bit of keyboard and use their virtual counterparts in Anvil Studio for note entry. In addition, as a singer, Anvil Studio serves as a convenient tool for learning pieces for Church choir, a male barbershop chorus and a mixed chorus.
Charles Campo


I absolutely love your software. My mom and I are long time users of it; we've tried several different MIDI programs over the years, and Anvil Studio has been the easiest, most intuitive and user friendly Software that we have found.
Celia Tracy


i love composing in a straightforward environment and to me anvil is the best.....of course i'll do my audio elsewhere but anvil has a way of making my ideas come alive. Thanks ANVIL. I will be buying more accessories. I wish Anvil could be joined to Reason or Ableton as one unit. That could be awesome.
i really love the simplicity that you bring to music composition. i really love your anvil studio. i can see my ideas come to light while working with anvil. Other studios tend to be too cluttered or complicated as far as composition is concerned.
Christopher Kimera


That's why i love Anvil, clean clear and straight to the point. It's a stand alone program that doesn't have or need background services, it's fast, loads in a snap and get your ideas down straightaway.
I've used other notation programs in the past, with every new update, they became more and more bloated and as you said, cluttered. For me Anvil stays put. I'm not using anything else. :-D
Michael Scott


Great tool! I'm actually learning music now in a fun way! Thanks.
Nicky Kotze


I do music robots and use Anvil.
see www.mikenoman.info and
www.mikenoman.info/meet_mike.html.
rgds, Andre



I had put this together after getting Promix for Anvil studio. Without Promix, it wouldn't be possible.
Michael Scott


Thank you for your great help. I use anvil studio since 2001. It is a fantastic program.
Here you can listen to compositions which I have made with Anvil Studio. www.walsweer.eu/composities
Thanks again for your help and best regards,
Menno Walsweer


Hello,
Just wanted to drop you guys a line, and say thank you. I started using your program a few years ago to write music, and haven't looked back since. The interface was very easy to pick up on. If you might like to hear what I've used Anvil to create, please check my page out at www.reverbnation.com/deanmachine for all the songs I have available. I'll write the whole song out, part for part, note for note, then transfer the midis to GarageBand for a slightly more realistic sound. I can't play guitar, so when my band broke up, this was the perfect way for me to continue writing. Again, thanks so much for sharing your program, and I hope you enjoy what I've done with it...
Sincerely,
Dean Zongrone


I purchased the Anvil Works Music Drills Accessory w/ free updates. I'm very pleased with your software and it's features which are helping me tremendously with my difficulty in sight reading. The summary after each exercise is excellent, because it shows my progress. That feature has increased my motivation to practice and actually enjoy the process of learning to read music. As a jazz guitarist, instructor and retired software engineer my assessment of your software is that it is one of, if not the best music education program I've reviewed. Thank you for writing such a great program!

Samuel V. Latture


ANVIL STUDIO (freeware version with shareware add-ons)
A superb midi-maker that allows you to enter music in all the usual ways – by musical keyboard, via notation or by piano roll. The freeware version is totally functional. You only use the shareware feature if you want to buy add-ons. These are not essential.


Scratch workshops are offered free of charge to youth aged 10 to 14. All students receive a free CD containing the Scratch application, Audacity (sound editing program), Anvil Studio (midi composing software), and GIMP (graphics editing program). Graduates of the Scratch program have gone on to build projects using other game-design software such as Game Maker, Greenfoot, and Alice.
scratch.mit.edu/users/wilmettelibrary


January 30, 2011
I play keyboards and guitar in the Wichita, KS based band, Stallion. We are a five piece multi-instrumentalist band. I am the primary keyboard player, but one of the guitarists also plays keys. I use a multiple keyboard rig when playing live. My rig consists of an Ensoniq ESQ1, Roland Fantom FA-76, Alesis QS8, Roland XP-30, Alesis QS7.1, and a 1948 Hammond CV Organ that has been converted to a B3. The Hammond is running into a 1972 Leslie 122 cabinet. The other five synths are run into a Roland 16 channel line-mixer. I send either stereo or mono out to the Front of House P.A. and I send monitor outs to my on-stage monitor.

I find that in order to cover the type of material we attempt it is easier for me to have separate physical keyboards instead of a rack of synth modules. With that many keyboards it takes some time to make patch changes between songs. In a live gig we try to keep the energy going with minimal time between songs. I was constantly holding the band up as I was making each patch change manually one at a time. Some songs like Roundabout (Yes) and Somebody Told Me (The Killers) I use all five synths and the Hammond! I needed a better and faster way to make patch changes live.

I happily stumbled onto the Anvil Studio software sequencer/audio recording online. I had tried other programs that claimed to do what I needed but then did not. After working with Anvil Studio support, I am now able to make patch changes on all of my keyboards simultaneously. In addition to the basic Anvil Studio program I purchased and installed the Pro-Mix accessory program for $29.00. To set-up a song I create a “Song” file for each song. I then assign a track to each keyboard that I use in that particular song. Anvil Studio with the Pro-Mix option allows me to load my patch libraries for my specific keyboards into the program. Thus, I simply pick the keyboard and then the specific patch I need for that song. Sometimes I use the Alesis QS8 to control the Roland Fantom. I often want to play two patches from separate keyboard at the same time. I am able to route this control feature through Anvil Studio and turn it on and off for each song. This has saved me from having to buy special midi cables or a midi combiner box.

I am running Anvil Studio on a very basic laptop computer running Windows XP Service Pack 3. I have the computer connected via USB to a MOTU Micro Lite midi interface unit. This is where I connect my keyboards via midi to the correct inputs and outputs. Anvil Studio automatically recognizes the MOTU interface. I am able to tell Anvil Studio which midi port each keyboard is connected to. This makes routing midi instructions simple. I now make few clicks on my mouse and the exact keyboard or keyboards I need for the next song are ready to go. This makes it easy for the other keyboard player who is not as familiar with my rig as I am.
I had a chance today at rehearsal to give the system a complete test run. I used the "Open and Play" feature between songs and it worked perfectly. Thanks so much for your help. I have wanted to have this type of switching system for years.
I have and will continue to recommend Anvil Studio to an electronic musician I know.

Joe Sauer
           


I've been using Anvil Studio for years on my old Gateway computer with Windows XP. I've recorded the audio to many songs, and a few instructional videos, using it. A few days ago, I replaced the Gateway with a home-built Windows 7 gaming machine and downloaded Anvil Studio 2011. It took some time to configure it correctly, but it now works great. Tom @Anvil Studio support was incredibly helpful, making sure that everything worked and that I was completely satisfied with the product. Hooray for Anvil Studio!
Lou



By the way, on the subject of chord labels, your methodology is second to none! (I've tried several other well known programs and their systems are limited, unreliable and frequently make obvious errors)
Mike



I can't wait to get working in the studio with those VST plugins and your fabulous software!
Just to let you know, I have tried Adobe Audition, MOTU, Sonar, Wavelab, N-Track... your software is the ONLY package that does not have live recording buffer lag.
Fantastic job!

Blessings,
-Pastor Chris


HI!
I've enjoyed, and been assisted by Anvil Studio for years. It has helped me in studying classical scores (I copy, for instance, the string section from a Dvorak overture, to hear it without brass, percussion, etc.), and in making my own music. Hopefully someday I'll be able to send you some of my work; I think you'd really like it. Thanks for making software that supports world-class music! The attachment is the log file from my latest download/upgrade.

Gratefully,
Jon


Dear Willow Software,
Anvil Studio is by far the best MIDI production software I have used. I am in love with the addon plugins like Print Sheet, SP-MIDI, and Toolpack 1! But even without these plugins, I think that the software is still awesome. By far the most flexible MIDI production software I have had the pleasure to use! Can't wait for the next version.
-Tim Buntin


Hi there, Anvil Studio is a great application, I use it to record music for my Children's GCSE music exams.
Many thanks!
Brendan Mallon


Worked perfectly. Can't begin to tell you how great I think Anvil Studio is... I love it!
James


Thank you very much. And I've got to say, you guys are awesome for responding in less than an hour to a customer support email.
Alexander Boyd


Hello,
i'd like to let you know that i am very satisfied with Anvil Studio and the 'Midi Manager' addon i purchased today.
I tried several other (free) Midi sequencers but none of them were usable, due to lack of features or annoying bugs.
Luckily i found the free Anvil Studio and when i started to use it i almost instantly decided to buy at least the 'Midi Manager' addon but probably some more.
Thanks for a great and affordable product!
Regards,
Theo Smit


It gives me great pleasure to say that I use Anvil Studio to prepare every song. I am so much used to it for these many years now and I am so full of gratitude for Anvil Studio and needless to mention, for you that's behind it. I have tried other software too but always keep coming back to Anvil Studio for the ease and precision that I look for.

Ramesh


Anvil is a simple-and-good program! Especially for beginner composer Like me~ :D
(and this is a simple-and-short comment *hammer bang*)


I've been using Anvil Studio for nearly 10 years now. I absolutely love it. It's feature-rich for new users with little to no experience and becomes extremely handy with the addition of some of the more advanced accessory packs that one can purchase, should the user ever require deeper MIDI-editing capabilities. The extra accessories users can purchase are very reasonably priced, and once purchased, all updates/upgrades to that particular accessory are free for the duration of the user's life. The cool thing is, you get the general program of Anvil Studio for free...then, you can purchase just what you need to expand Anvil's utility, rather than having to purchase a bundle with a lot of what you don't need at a higher price. Oh, and customer service has been exemplary. A very helpful gentleman and scholar (I believe his name was Tom) got back to me via email very quickly and hit the ground running when it came to providing an immediate fix for my problem that ended up having only to do with my operating system's installer--not Anvil Studio.

I'm a recording musician who plays guitar, keyboards, and drums, and I'm always intensely striving to improve my chops in audio engineering, musical composition, production, and performance. Anvil, to me in a word, is the "hub" of my home studio. I do use a dedicated 'pro DAW' application as well as other useful gear and software, but Anvil Studio is my most indispensable "go-to" for my writing process. I do a lot of MIDI programming by hand and through actual performances by the use of MIDI controllers (an electronic drumkit and a MIDI controller keyboard) that Anvil Studio interfaces with flawlessly via my MIDI capable audio interface. I'm into writing rock, metal, blues, electronic/ambient, and classical, and let me say, I use Anvil Studio for ALL of it. However, I do use Anvil Studio for a more specialized purpose as well: to "archive" all the musical material I've written to date.

Since having Anvil Studio, I've literally used it to program all instruments in all the genres I dabble in. To put it another way, every song I've ever written since I discovered Anvil Studio is neatly archived as a MIDI file, and these files contain the arrangement of the song, as well as every instrument used to make the song what it is...note for note, BPM for BPM, etc. So, if I ever bump my head and get amnesia, I can always go back, open up the archived MIDI file in Anvil Studio, SEE & hear all the exact notes for every instrument, brush up on the song's time-signature execution, play along on any of the respective instruments for self-practice, and/or share a quick musical piece with a friend or colleague...all within Anvil Studio.

Granted, there are other programs that try to do what Anvil Studio does...and some even come close to succeeding with it. However, the ease of use, along with the simplified GUI of Anvil Studio is what really sets it apart from the competition. When it comes to the tools we use in the studio, it's not about the bubbly looks, it's about its usefulness and efficiency. Anvil Studio has those to the fullest, without all the extra visual distractions of the competition that, for some reason, feel that more clutter on the screen at any one time is the way to go. Anvil Studio is just easier on the eyes. I have no desire to find "something else." Anvil Studio does what I need it to do to be able to realize and to help bring my musical visions to stellar fruition. Thanks Willow Software!

All the best,

C.J. Yarborough

The Segue Station <<<< (the name of my home studio side business)


Hello,
I would just like to thank you for creating such a brilliant and easy to use piece of software for music creation. My best friend introduced me to it almost 2 years ago, and since then I am yet to find a program that can be used to compose a piece with the ease and simplicity that yours can. A special thank you for making most of the important elements freeware. This saves me from having to hand out large amounts of money to big companies. I hope soon to upgrade my Anvil Studio by getting the Anvil Studio Works! Thank you once again! (And I can't wait for the 2010 edition!).
Robert Cook


I've tried so many other programs - Sibelius, Finale, Noteworthy Composer, Forte, Notation Composer, Vivaldi, Capella, etc. etc. - but none of them come even close to the elgance/simplicity of Anvil. Where most of them fail is that they seem to pre-suppose that users want to write out and print the sheet music.

For choir singers that's not necessary because we get all our sheet music from our music director - so we can already see it and obviously don't need to print it. But what we really need to know is how that music, and our individual parts, actually sounds.

So when I've put a piece into AnvilStudio I save the individual tenor/soprano/alto/bass versions (with respective volumes turned up in each) and then send the files to the other choir members so they can learn their notes and timing. If they have AnvilStudio they can also 'see' the notes go by in the 'Composer' screen while they practice the notes by singing 'loo loos'. We learn our pieces way, way, way faster when we've had time to learn our notes before rehearsals.

Regards, Roman


Dear Willow Software,
I just wanted to take the time to thank you all for producing such a great MIDI editing program. I have been a die-hard user of Anvil Studio since I stumbled across it on the Internet 3 years ago, and with it, I have produced many fine MIDI music files. I recently ordered the Pro-Mix accessory for Anvil Studio, and I was able to do many things with it that I never was able to do before. Just last night, I completed a MIDI version of Phil Collins' hit song "Take Me Home", and was able to do a studio-quality fade out at the end of it. It was created with (of course) Anvil Studio version 2002.02.02 along with a Roland EM-20 synthesizer, and it is attached to this message for your listening pleasure.
Again, thank you for making a great product, and please keep up the good work.
Sincerely,
Tommy Griffin


Hi,
to me this is not only a free program for all of us who want to compose, write music of composers into your computer or combine midi- with self-played audio-files. ANVIL from Anvil was the starting point for me as I searched a possibility to have my own little music studio. The support was as great as my first questions stupid :-), and it did not end with advice for Anvil studio itself. I don't think you could find something that comes close to this in the whole web, I'm very thankful for that and without it I surely would have given up as there were lots of problems with my equipment.

The help menu in the program is extremely good, links to nearly everything you need, midi-files, tips for sequencing, tips for better sound, the possibility of using sound fonts...., and as in Germany nobody could tell me what soundcard I should have, Willow-Software gave me the hint! I've recently found some compositions of my father who died when I was a child; with Anvil it's extremely easy to transcribe those pieces and to play it with the various midi-instruments your PC has for you. It's simply pleasure! I strongly suggest buying the COMBO PACK1 for all of you who want to record, say, guitar or piano or your voice with the midi-files. It makes composing still easier, you can see 2 tracks together with the accessories, for example. Composing with these accessories is outraging, there are so many possibilities for you to try...simply put the mouse on a note and click the right mouse-button, and you can change many many things... The problem with MIDI may be a rather "dry, mechanical" sound, but not with Anvil! Even with the accessories it's very very cheap, I tried out other programs. Normally I don't use to talk like this, but it's such a great program. I shall soon buy the print sheet as it is lots of fun to play music on a keyboard with midi-out and get your art :-) printed... At last for all of you who have the possibility of using sound fonts, try www.dausenkunz.de if you're interested in old and very very good instruments for medieval, renaissance and world-music (strings, a very good lute, for example, winds and extremely good drum-instruments, all very very rare, 45 instruments). It rather adds unbelievable good sounds to your Midi, your compositions with Anvil will sound even better with that. I write this as an addition because some sound fonts at that page are for free (lute, cister, a syrian drum and one I forgot). It even sounds in techno...:-).

Georg Fries


I've been using Anvil Studio for about a year now and it has been great. It's really easy for new users to use and understand, and their are "How to" and help functions that explain everything. I happened to come across it on the internet and am glad I did. I have been using the freeware version to write MIDI's and to see other people's MIDI's that I have downloaded. If anyone is looking for a MIDI program, this is the one to use, definately. Recomended.
Thomas Mitchell


Just wanted to add my $0.02. I think that Anvil Studio is, without a doubt, the greatest freeware software product in the world. I use it exclusively for sequencing MIDI files for my web site and I highly recommend it to everyone who is interested in creating MIDI music on their PC.
Dean Falcione


coolest program ever
Charles Wright


I would just like to say that I've had Anvil Studio for almost a year now, and I have had so much fun with it. I have composed mostly cover-ups of real songs, but a few of my own. At this point, I have written and perfected 25 compositions, three of which I have attached for your listening enjoyment. When I get the money, I will definitely order some of those accessories. Until then, I will continue to use your program to its fullest. I would also like to say, in conclusion, that this is the ONLY good MIDI program. I doubt anyone could make a program that's any better than this one.
Thanks,
Thomas Hay


I've composed on your program for many years and last year my composition was accepted in a movie. It was only a small part of a song but I got my first composition credit. I love Anvil!!!!!
Sincerely,
Suzanne


Dear Anvil Studio, I am a young composer who would like to express his deep appreciation to you for creating such a great Midi editing program. A few years ago I was given a used computer by my older brother who works with computers and had an old one that nobody wanted. A Midi editing program came along with the computer and I had a great time composing and experimenting; but the abilities of the (free) program were limited and when the computer crashed for the final time, I lost everything I had written. I also lost the program. Now I am using (and loving) Anvil Studio. I don't even miss the old editor, or the old songs, for that matter. Anvil Studio has become my best friend and I have written a entire CD with it. Usually, as the above story teaches, free things are pretty much always junk. But I must say that sometimes the best things are free as is the case with your program. A few of my friends have downloaded the program as well and enjoy using it too.
Thanks again.
Jonathan Sutherland


I just would like the team who develop the AnvilStudio to know that I feel so grateful for you, guys. I remember when it was 2000. I was looking for a freeware that could write MIDI file. I used the search engine and found AnvilStudio. The first time I installed the software, I really got impressed by it. I mean, all you wanted to do with MIDI, Anvil Studio could do just about it all.
There, I got it all out. I've been wanting to express my feelings towards AnvilStudio for so long time. Only now do I have the chance.
Great work, guys. Keep it up.
M Wilson
Jakarta, Indonesia


I think if there is any program that has given me so much pleasure for a long time, its Anvil Studio. Its one of those programs that 'involves' you and make life a little more pleasant to live. The print accessory is a real joy, and is a great assistance to using the music one either writes or gets as midis. Many thanks to the team there, and I wish you all well for the future...
Graeme, South Australia.


Dear Sirs and Ma'ams,
I just want to thank you for producing such a great program. I have been addicted to Anvil Studio ever since I downloaded it on August 14, 2002. This has been the best music writing software that I have ever come across on the 'net, and I just have to say that all of the other stuff out there is crap compared to Anvil Studio. I have two electric keyboards at home, but none of them were compatible with the USB ports in my computer. Well, with Anvil Studio, I don't even need one! I have just used the internal synthesizer to write all of my music.
Sincerely,
Thomas Hay
Edmonton, Alberta, Canada


Hi guys,
I just wanted to take the time to thank you for producing an awesome program. I'm totally hooked to it. Before I stumbled across Anvil Studio, I had another MIDI program on my computer which was so hard to use. It felt like I was trying to move an elephant because every note you played was done with a keyboard and I had no clue how to merge tracks. In the end, I just stopped using it. So then later, I was on the prowl for an easier MIDI software package AND I found this. I've enjoyed countless hours using it as I have composed lots of MIDI songs. My girlfriend knows I love composing music because I told her that I compose music with Anvil Studio. If I was given the choice of MIDI software programs to use, I'd definitely choose Anvil Studio, 100% guaranteed. Why? Anvil Studio is so easy to use and you don't have to know a thing about music composition to use this. Thanks again for an awesome and easy-to-use program.

Give Me Anvil Studio Any Day
Ben Horne


Dear Sirs:
I still didn't have the pleasure to thank you properly for the moments of joy I've already spent with Anvil Studio! It has been a dream since I was 16 or 17! I'm not a musician, nor even know how to read music from papers! But I always wanted to try to MAKE music! I'd like to study music composing! But I can't! Well, by now I'll just continue to use this software. Once again, thank you all for these moments that will always be connected to the name of Anvil. Please, try not to cease free software. There's a whole lot of people who cannot afford to pay even a small amount that is! Right now I'm playing a modified by me version of Air, Bach's n�3 Orchestral Suite! It's fantastic!
Thank you.
C.A.


I am an organist for a church. For so long, I was looking for a free program that would allow me to create my favorite hymns on the computer. Anvil Studio is the perfect program for this. I use hymnbooks to create songs in Anvil Studio by copying the songs into Anvil Studio, occasionally modifying parts of different songs to satisfy me. The only part of the hymns I copy are the notes of the melody. I just add chords to the notes of the melody, which is how I play the organ. I hope this all is okay for me to do. I really enjoy doing this, and it is fun to listen to the songs that have been created. Thank you for creating Anvil Studio and God bless you all!

Mark McKinney


Thank you very much for a very good program.
I have only just installed it on my Laptop and just started to use it, when I stumbled across the practice page. I have the problem of quickly memorizing tunes from piano tutors and I start to play by ear, without learning how to site read. With this program, I am forced to read notes off the staves when playing because it keeps giving varying combination of notes to practice with.
I have not yet mastered the midi and audio sequencing aspects, but it is looking very promising. I was very skeptical about all the "free junk" I downloaded recently until I installed and tried Anvil Studio. I nearly resorted to buying a heavy duty Music Software program, which I don't think is necessary for a stark beginner in MIDI sequencing and keyboard playing on the computer! I say do we all love freebee!!! I know, however, that good things like this may not last for ever: do you think we will start paying for this program? ( I am aware we have to pay for the accessories).
Thank you once again. This is good work.

Tobi Omojayogbe


I am a student at Indian Woods Middle School, in Johnson county, Kansas. I am also a part of the gifted education program. Many of us (in the gifted ed program) use AnvilStudio to create music (some of which goes to competitions). Anvil is a great tool because it allows you to hear what you are writing. I would say that Anvil Studio is one of my top 5 favorite computer applications.

C. Cameron


I would just like to say that Anvil Studio software for a FREE is realy is amazing indeed, as for a person with little knowledge on music I find it very useful and great software which I could not find in my country. I started out using a crappy piece of MIDI software I got with my S/Card driver. Until it was too crappy for me. I searched the net for a decent piece of software. I failed once, so I tried Anvil Studio. Best piece of software available on the net. And I don't say that easily, I think most of the software on the net is crap. I've found that from experience. Anvil Studio.

Nandri Vanakkam
RCSegaran, Kuala Lumpur Malaysia


Hi,
My name is GianlucaLaRosa, i am a virtual Holistic Consultant and a minimalist computer music composer. I am very happy to let you know that on the first of April will be release on the site Eselondo.ac.uk (European School of Economics in London) a new revolutionary website No-game called UN-GAME, created by myself and john Elcock of the-aquarium.net. I am writing to you because I used Anvil Studio to compose the complete score of the web site, and it's credited on the first page of the site. Thank you very much for your wonderful job, I decided to use yours, because I wanted to use an example of free musical software available to everybody.
Thanks again.
Gianluca


Dear sir,
I've first downloaded Anvil Studio at my hometown about 2 years ago. Now, I'm using Anvil Studio to compose Malaysian ethnic and traditional songs in MIDI format. Well, I'm glad to say that Anvil Studio is quite easy to use, but I need some basic music knowledge. However, I don't even require an electronic keyboard to compose music.
All the best!
Yours truly,

Hezery (hezery99@yahoo.com)


By the way, Anvil Studios is wonderful. My daughter uses it constantly. Now I will download it again on to Windows XP. She loves it and so do I. My nephews share music with my daughter. WHAT A LEARNING TOOL! YOU ARE THE BEST!

Doreen Pawelski


Oh my gosh! This is great, I mean It was awesome! Keep up the good work! And is works great with ABC-TV VideoRoll!
From,

Abby


Dear Anvil
You did some exception work helping us early in the year, we just wanted to wish you Happy Holidays and update you on Sanchez Envy's progress. The last time we talked we sent you a copy of the CD we made with Anvil Studios. We never heard whether you recieved it, we had some e-mail problems.We are currently working on a submission through an agent to Sony. The band is playing some bigger clubs and building a good following. We are going into a professional studio in January, Sony requires it. Thanks again for all your help. PS Our web site is still under some construction but you can see what we have so far at www.Sanchezenvy.net
Best Wishes
Your Friends

Sanchez Envy


Thanks Willow for Anvil Studio. I have downloaded free version being impressed how it works. It's a best free user-friendly MIDI sequencer, simple to use and create MIDI music and it works! Have been searching long time for such a tool, and finally I have it, thinking to expand with additional accesories for $19 soon.

Zoran Samardzija, Slovenia


Hi there
I've spent several weeks now looking through dozens of packages that let you mix audio and midi, from Hi-end(fully featured but way more than is needed) to Lo-end(simple but limited) and the only package that I consistently come back to for ease of use and completeness of features is Anvil Studio. At the moment I am only using the freeware but intend to move to the 1/8 add on shortly. This must surely be THE standard for speed/ease of producing music mixes. Well done the team for giving us world changing software.
Thanks!
cheers

dave


i love this program and i have not even reached the full potenial of using this program. i am sure there is lots more i can do with this program. it does a great job for me. i have told countless musician friends of mine about this program.
Thanks for a great product!!!

Christopher Cummins
Waynesboro, PA


I have tried about 20 other music programs (all shareware) and they took me a long time to learn to use. However, with Anvil Studio (freeware), it took me about 15 minutes to get used to the interface.
You guys are a company that actually deserves the consumer's money. If I ever have money to buy the Works pack, I will do so without hesitation. I give this program 6 out of 5 stars.

James Nylen


I do seriously love your program and would recommend it to anyone. By the way, I am using a 10 channel Radio Shack General Midi Keyboard. It plays instruments and rythmn on these 10 channels. Your program records all 10 channels at one time each on its own track. That is fantastic.

I write music and wanted a way to put my songs on CD so that I could send them to groups that might want to record them. My field is music, not electronics or computers, and this product was what I needed. I have tried for several years to find a program that was self explanatory (I am no recording or electronic genius), one that would work with a regular computer system and a cheaper general midi keyboard, and one that wouldn't take me ten years to learn. Also, the others that I found, if you had problems or didn't understand something, forget finding any kind of support. With you guys there is actually a "real-live" person to answer your e-mail. You personally stand behind your product, that's great. The other products I tried samples of had prices ranging from $400 to $700 dollars. I get a lot more with this and at a price everybody can live with. This is a program that any one can use-simple enough to use for fun but good enough to use professionally. It's great.

Sandy Haga


Hello,
After many years of playing by ear thanks to your wonderful software now I might finally learn how to write it. Will be back to check out the add-ons as soon as I learn more. Attached a simple and familiar tune, my second attempt.
Thanks Again,

Chad Chadwick
Alameda, CA


Your quick response and understanding of my problem demonstrated outstanding customer support. I will recommend your products to others and continue to use them myself! Thank goodness there are still companies like yours around.
Thanks again!

Tom Sauer


I downloaded ANVIL STUDIO and it is impressive. I think that this program can be compared to the expensive software that aren't worth the time to figure out. I produce rap beats and the flexible use of ANVIL makes it easy to create beat after beat. With ANVIL I produce 10-15 beats a day! keep up the good work!
Regards,

Eric Riddick


Hey thanks fellas for a great program. I had already bought Cakewalk and was struggling to learn how to use it when I accidently surfed on to your site and found Anvilstudio. I love the way you teach me step by step on the same page how to use it.


Thanks. It installed fine and seems to be working fine which is better than what I can say for one of your competitors.
Anvil is still my favorite program for composing MIDI, the easiest to use and revise. I look forward to continuing updates on my new hyperpowered computer.

Allen


Gday
First let me say how much I enjoy using Anvil Studio. It's a terrific program - I couldn't live without it.
Cheers.

HALLY


Thanks for your quick reply. As usual, Anvil continues to impress me as the best music software apps you can find under 100 dollars (and I had tried a lot of them, too). A year ago, I reported 2 bugs that have since been patched with the upgrades. Keep up the great work!
Thanks again,

John J. Linstrum


Hello Anvil!
I'm excited about you. I don't see where you have failed. Thank you for letting me learn by letting me download Anvil free. I wish there were more free programs like you that don't mind sharing. Now, I have something to share with you. The users of this program won't have to worry about midi in and midi out if they want to use their synthesizers. They can plug their synthesizers right into their microphones. But I have an old Casio keyboard with line out on the side. I get to use one simple plug. The sound goes through pretty loud and clear. I hate a lot of hook-up and plugs.
I don't ever want to uninstall Anvil. I have been trying to get this type of program for years. There are similar programs that cost so much. Anvil is going to be a big program in the future with a big price. But as long as I can keep this version, I can up with more ideas for the program. I can go on and on about Anvil.

leshontg@coastalnet.com


Thank you for the download! I am an active member of an international Medeival/Renaissance re-creation organization and with Anvil Studio, I have been able to recreate my period music to share online with others across the continent. It's a useful program and a must for beginner and expert composers.
Thanks again!
Regards,

F. Steuart
Canada


I just wanted you guys to know what a cool and reliable product you have made. The entry and accuracy is perfect for arranging small groups. I think the best feature overall is the .wav .mid combination, it serves a number of purposes. Thank you for a great product, and for Free even.
A Gratefull Freeloading Downloader,

Evan Bailey


Your program is the most functional, easy to use, para-professional package I've ever experienced (to be honest, it' the only one I have ever been able to figure out and effectively manipulate for my musical needs). I cannot think of any musical idea that I was not able to translate into the Anvil. I have literally "freaked out" friends and family who have listened to my compositions/recordings. The sound quality is quite high for a mock stereo and everybody asks, "How do you do it, 'cuz it sounds like a cd?" Well, I am sure that you can tell by the tone of this letter that I am way stoked on the system. Music that I had written 5 and 10 years ago is now layered, textured, and saved (practically freakin' studio produced!). Back to composing, experimenting, and enjoying.
Thank you, whoever you people are.
Sincerely,

Reed


Anvil Studio has to be one of the most used programs on my computer! It finally allowed me to compose some of my favorite songs. I'm absolutely crazy about the program, I'm 17 years old, and I'm saving up all of my money to buy the works! I love this program, thank you for writing it!
Appreciator sincerely,

Michael C. Margliotti


Anvil Studio program is a very good program and provides with all those things, a musician needs. It's a fantastic program. I love working on music using this program. Please let me know the procedure of submitting you music?
Thanks

Misbah Mansoor


Wow. I don't know what else I can say. I've looked for ages to find a decent MIDI composing program. Since I'm not a musician myself, and don't even own a synthesizer, I needed one that had the flexibility of allowing me to "write" the sheet music without having to actually play a single note on the keyboard.

I've seen packages out there that cost anywhere from $100 (very low-end) to $600. I was absolutely shocked when a friend told me about your software, and I downloaded and installed it. Even the freeware version alone has all the functionality, and features of a high-end, $600 piece of software. And what's more, the software's completely free, with no annoying nag-screens, or advertisements on it. I'm absolutely amazed at the quality of this product.
Thank you VERY much!
-Javin


Right from the start, let me say this about Anvil : I use it to compose, which means being able to tap elusive and capricious inspiration ... with Anvil I am able to set up a few tracks really fast and have the main outline of a piece within 5 to 10 minutes... this is extraordinary (try doing this with Cakewalk).... I have rarely seen such a tool that allows you to work so fast and so transparently... for example, the step recording features : durations mapped on the function keys, inserting silences, really fast cut and paste, changing velocity, right-clicking to change properties, durations... etc., make it very easy to focus on your work rather than on the tool. Right hand inputs notes, left hand changes parameters as needed... perfect combination when composing. Also the main screen setup : mixer -- staff/piano view -- parameters dashboard -- piano keyboard : is a potent one: everything one needs is accessible directly, and therefore one can work very efficiently...
Georges Khal


Dear all,
after I downloaded you free software I tried it directly and I have to tell you I'm impresed. I was searching a long time for a sequence-program like this and I never thought I would get it for free. You are doing a very good job. Keep in going and many thanks again.
Kind regards from the Netherlands, Sascha Hipp


I wanted to express how much I have enjoyed and recommend your software to other musicians I know. I have found the functionality to be unequaled in terms of cost/performance issues. I can't believe how much I can do with the little investment I made in upgrades.
Latham Adam


I've only been using Anvil Studios for a couple weeks now, but I think its one of the best things I've ever downloaded!
Thomas Eric Milstead


I love Anvil Studio, it's so easy for me to use.
Once again thanks and keep up the good work.
Musically yours,
Tim Madden


Excellent product!
Keep up the good work!!!
Thanks-
Bruce Ebert


I reinstalled and was able to make the final mix for the album and recorded 1 more song. We will be producing the album shortly for release to radio stations and record companies. We would love to send you one of the first copies for your efforts in getting all our problems solved. Thanks again for everything. ANVIL RULES!
Sincerely Yours,
Marcus, Sanchez Envy


I just wanted to let you guys know that I continue to be amazed by this absolutely fantastic piece of software, and while I've no use for any of the plugins yet (the software does everything I could possibly need it to do in the freeware version, and then some) so in "payment" since I believe a piece of freeware of THIS quality definitely deserves payment, I'm part of a video game programmer's discussion board. I've put in several good words for Anvil Studio among my peers, and you should, if nothing else, see an increase in your downloads. I can't tell them enough just how wonderful this software is for MIDI creation. Once I finally get the game I'm designing published, you guys will get a nice big bill in the credits.
Thanks again!
-Javin


Fantastic Program!
Oda Br�stad


I installed your patch last night, and I've tested it a few times since. So Far So Good, but it seems to do EXACTLY what I need it too. The real test comes when I record the band at the end of the week, and I'm sure it'll come through with flying colours. Thanks for an excellent programme, and the superb service you've given.
Warmest Wishes
Jim Palmer


I want to thank you for your speedy responce to my request. You have the best support I have ever delt with. As I said in my last letter I recently purchased a Tascam us-428 it came with a version of Cubase. I tried using it for a while, but it is just not nearly as user friendly as Anvil Studio. Again thanks for your product, even if it never suports the Tascam interface. I will still be using Anvil for all my midi recording. Nobody else makes it so easy to do.
Thanks again
Ted Orwiler


Just what I was looking for, and so well explained. The instructions are an art in itself, because most instructions are confusing. Good program...thanks !
DW


I don't remember how I found your code, but it's really neat. My wife just bought me a Yamaha PSR-280 keyboard for Christmas. It didn't come with a MIDI cable so I went to the music shop this lunchtime. The free version (Sept 00) of Anvil Studio worked out of the box with it!
I just wish I knew how to play a keyboard now.
Thanks for a great product.
Regards, Dougie Lawson


JUST A SHORT NOTE TO LET YOU KNOW HOW IVE REALY ENJOYED WORKING WITH YOUR STUDIO,, I FIND IT SO EASY TO USE ,ANDUSE IT NOW FOR MOST OF MY BACKING TRACKS,, ALL THE VERY BEST FOR 2001[[[[[[HOOCH ]]]]]]]] NEWCASTLE.ENGLAND,,,,,,,,,,,
BOB ANDREWS


Well, today I finished one more track using your excellent program. Me and three other ppl live in Norway. Norway is a country of long distances, we all come from mid-Norway. Now me and my friend lives in Southwest Norway, and that is 100 metric miles away from the rest of the band. We don't get much rehearsals in that way. So, to present new ideas to the rest of the band, me and my friend make demos using anvil. We will punch in drums, sometimes we play bass-lines, other times we just play our guitars and sing (like with tiden). Now our bass-player up in Steinkjer (our hometown) can download the song, and make up a bass-line. For easter me and my friend here are travelling up to Steinkjer, there we are going to do rehearsels and record for the local national broadcast company (NRK). We use our demos to prepare the rest of the band, to share ideas and to play togehter.
Ok, bye for now. No-one I have given feedback as handled it as great as you guys. A star for you :-)
greets,
Jan Frode Haugseth


I had been searching for a way to include MIDI files in my web pages. I wasn't quite sure how I was going to do that, until I found your program. What I like about it is that it is extremely user friendly. I also like the fact that you did not put a time limit on it.
I am certain that I will be ordering accessories in the future and, if they operate like your program, they should run just as smoothly.
Mary R.


I'm just writing to thank you for making a great MIDI composer/editor, and releasing it for free. I will definatley recommend it to my friends in the musical/game dev community.
Daniel


Just love your product anvil studio, I use it everyday to play and learn music from songs off the Internet.
Sincerely yours,
Milton R. Harris


I installed the upgrade that you e-mailed me about. I could not be happier with the way that it works. It seems to be very professional, of course, I still use my outboard reverb, but it is a great addition.
I downloaded the software a couple of weeks ago and my son is getting very good with it. It seems to work very well. He has his project almost complete now.
Thanks,
Bob Gluck


I was pleasantly surprised by the quick action you took in response to my email about the changes to Anvil. It's great to deal with a company that is so willing to listen to their customers' needs. Keep up the good work.
Howard Patterson


Thank you for your swift reply. Your program has had a profoundly beneficial effect on our family. ... Make no mistake about it--I APPRECIATE your program! Without it, I would probably still be scribbling on music paper, and just using the piano because the other music programs we'd found were too complicated. My daughter discovered Anvil while surfing, and told us to try it, though we had just invested in another program. We used her keyboard and were very pleased.
Thanks again for a super product.
Margaret Tracy


hi guys
amazed at your product and stunned that its free!!!! i will recommend this to every single one of the 1000s of customers who come thru my music shop doors
cheers guys + well done !
Jon Macdonald


Thank you for the excellent music application. I have just started to look at this subject and after downloading anvilstudio I am gobsmacked at it's scope.
Ron Etherington
www.livejazzuk.co.uk


I just realized I never replied to thank you for your support. Thanks again for your help and an excellent product. The quality of both product and support from Willow Software for the such an affordable price is undoubtedly one of a kind! Anvil Studio is an exceptional value!
Randall K. Harp


Wow! This is the best MIDI software that I've ever seen. I was getting ready to purchase another program but ran across your software at Cnet. I'm sending you a check for $107.53 for Anvil Studio Works! I am more than happy to pay this reasonable amount for such high quality software. I just purchased a Yamaha QX5 sequencer yesterday and hopefully I can incorporate Anvil Studio to work with my hardware. I'm running a Yamaha DX 7 to get some vintage sounds. In my opinion, every synthesizer is an instrument within itself and even thought other instruments are emulated, I play it for what it is. You don't have to spend a fortune in new technology just to get a few nice tracks. If you have talent, the basics will do. That's one of the things that I like about Anvil Studio. It's basic enough not to be a distraction and defeat the purpose itself. I'd rather spend time being creative than wrestling with software.
Great! Now I see why your software is reasonably priced but has just as much power as Pro software packages. In my opinion, you could justifiably charge a higher, but wait until I get Anvil Studio Works! before you think along those lines. As you know, this is the area for some of the greatest software developers worldwide. Don't forget about me when you hit big pay-dirt!
Carl Collins


Hey guys,
I have been searching for a long time in the internet for some MIDI software that would work well with my new digital piano. After many days and hours of searching, I found a software I thought would be the best. I ordered this "brand" name software and could not wait to get it installed and start having fun composing, arranging, etc. After receiving the software I installing it on my computer, and then hooking up the piano to the sound card. I was ready to go. Well, I tried and I tried and I tried, and then I really tried. I have not as yet recorded, or even made a sound. I happen to remember that sometime back I downloaded your software and installed it on my computer. It was hidden in the menu somewhere, "where is it?" There, I found it. "Click", and when the screen opened up on my computer, I pressed a key on my keyboard and low in behold a note popped up on my screen. I turned off the tone generator on the piano and then I could make all the sounds 0 - 128, as well. I am sorry for not remembering this sooner. And now I am in the process of downloading the upgrade and ordering all the accessories. You have made my day. And I just want to say many many thanks for this easy software. And I did not have to pay an arm and a leg, as well.
James L Thomas


You guys do great work and I wish you all the success you want. I spent a good bit of time on the Shareware Music Machine site looking for cheap or free software (I'm a poor college student), and was blown away by how superior Anvil Studio is compared to all the other software on that particular site.

Anvil Studio is far and away the best music program I've ever encountered. It simply blows Cakewalk and all the others away. No response to this email is neccessary; I just wanted to congratulate everyone at Willow Software on a job VERY well done. Thank you again.
Steve Ford


Hi Folks!
I downloaded Anvil Studio (version .07) I noticed this morning that you had version .09 so I upgraded my present version. I also purchased the print sheet accessory last week. I love this! Since downloading Anvil, I have "messed around" with some other music writing software offered on the net.....there's no comparison! Anvil is so user friendly! You have done a wonderful job of anticipating "problem areas" and making things simple! Thanks! And thanks for Anvil! I love it! It has opened up a whole new world for me!
Clayton Curry


Hi. Thanks for the prompt service. I had an application for your software and you came through for me in flying colors.
Gerald Lutz


Good day to you,
I downloaded the latest version of Anvil Studio as well as the Multi-Audio accessory. Everything is working like a charm!! Adding lyrics to a song has never been easier!!! I am most impressed. Thank you for your prompt and efficient service.
Philip van Heerden


Thanks so much for your kind attention to this "mini-dilemma"! It is the mark of a group who really cares and that makes your supporters glow about your product...
Thanks again,
Stirling Elmendorf


I would like to send my appreciation for your help and understanding in correcting the problem that I had. I will gladly recommend your products in the future and also not hesitate to try additional products myself.
Thanks again
Jeff D Martinez


Hi,
I would like to express my apreciation of the effort and time taken to create Anvil Studio. I am currently downloading a new copy due to a computer crash. I would not be without the software. I am not an avid musiician but I have been able to compose several pieces on the Anvil Studio program with an ease that is second to none.
Thanks again.
Stephen McAllister


I have been working with computers for over 15 years (including a number of years managing a computer support group), and the level of concern evidenced in your technical support is matched by very few companies or individuals.
Tim Springer


Dear Anvil Studio,
I love your program. I wanted to know if I could put a link to your website on my webpage, in other words, do a little free advertising for you. Your program is wonderful, and I think everyone should have access to it.
Thank You!
Celia Tracy
www.angelfire.com/ut/celiaspage/index.html


I think your product is great! I am planning to buy a midi-cable this afternoon (in Holland, that is) so I can use it more extensively. I have a question about the print-option. I think many users use AnvilStudio to compose music. You can hear the music you just composed etc. etc.
Wishing you a lot of success with your products,
Kind regards,
Jeroen de Jong
Delft, the Netherlands.


Best MIDI writer I have ever used. AOL is easy for the internet, Anvil Studio is easy for all your MIDI needs. Write your own or just look at other people's.
Trombone Paul


I recently purchased your digital multitrack software, complete with the 4/8 and pmix packages. I am really enjoying them! They were exactly what I was looking for in digital audio recording.
Handrake@aol.com


Thank-you so much! Once again, you have enlightened, assisted, and otherwise pulled my fat from the fire. You got my business !!!! You also got Freebies of all my Music when it comes out (First Burn/First Release, should be worth some $ if I ever "Make It")

You are GREAT!!! (image: Tony the Tiger holding up AnvilStudio logo instead of frosted flakes),
Glenn B. Morrison


This is an AWSOME piece of software.
I really like the speed with you answer my every whim - heh
I find AnvilStudio a BLESSING. It relieves me of a lot of practice because I can investigate how something will sound before I learn to do it and reject it and thereby save the time necessary to learn and then un-learn a technique. If I can be of any assistance to you re music theory or anything else please don't hesitate to ask. Your program is a dream come true for me.

I absolutely adore AnvilStudio - it saves me a lot of time in that I can try a lot of different things and listen to them right now...
Thanks for the great program.
Bill Hart


I would just like to say that for a FREE piece of software A.S. is amazing!
I started out using a crappy piece of MIDI software I got with my S/Card driver. Until it was too crappy for me.
I wanted something more, so I searched the net for a decent piece of software. I failed once, so I tried Anvil Studio. It sounded pretty pants, but I thought it was worth a try. After playing around with it for an hour, I realized how wrong I was. This really is the best piece of software available on the net. And I don't say that easily... In fact, I think most of the software on the net is crap. I've found that from experience. But not Anvil Studio!
Yours,
Umbrella_Corporation@yahoo.com


Just a quick e-mail to say: you guys rule, a free midi creation tool that looks like it should be commercial software - many thanks!!!!!
Best regards,
Jeremy Morton


Anvil Studio is a very good program. Its small (2.7 MB) and easy.
Go on like this!!
Loran


It's wild but Anvil will import a midi file with some overlapping notes and display them ok, maybe without showing a rest or two that should be there to show when the following notes start. I've downloaded several _major_ notation program demos in the under-$200 range that showed the first note shortened so that it didn't overlap the second, although they didn't alter the midi. It takes $200 and [competing product] to equal Anvil! Then you get those missing rests. Well, I'll be using Anvil.
Ed Light


I was delighted to try your Product... and I am looking forward to buying all the plugins. Do you have any Banners or Buttons I can place on my website?
God Bless!
Sincerely,
Matt Mattero Ministries �


Anvil is great and I look forward to using it for training purposes. Thanks for a generous contribution to the musical community!
Sincerely,
Lyn Robie


I've downloaded your free version of anvil studio and just started playing around in the program. You guys got a winner on your hands. I can see a big revival in midi-productions and with tools like the ones you're creating will be a great success. THANKs
Eddie G.
CENTRAL BALANCE SOUND PROD
egorenz@yahoo.com


I am impressed by your customer support. Thank you very much.
Thanks
Dieter Pelz


I think and believe AnvilStudio is something great for composing MIDI music and I'm working on a very nice project. You may be surprised some day because of my music being played around the world and me telling how I composed it using AnvilStudio as the best composition creating tool.
Wow! You're one of a kind. You made my day man. You put a hundred million dollars smile on my face with your encouragement. Have a perfect day ! (for the rest of the year;)
Alain Bisson *Al Biss*


I teach my neighbor's kid weekly and I had her working with the Copy Me module and she absolutely loves it! She's been struggling with learning to keep her eyes on the music and not look up and down or "rubberneck" which causes her to lose her place and become frustrated. She worked with it for most of the lesson and she said, "This is fun!" That was all I needed to hear but I knew it would be fun when I first came across Anvil and learned of that feature.
Thanks for your kind, professional and courteous help and support while I was stumbling in the dark trying to find my way. I'm up on my feet now with Anvil Studio on my home machine. Talk later!"

Art Matthews
Email: music@matraproductions.com
Website:
www.matraproductions.com


Thanks very much! I was using it last night and it rocks!
Duncan Burch


I think your program is Great! I have made many songs in it, and I am still liking it!
Thanks!
Trevor Christensen


I followed your advice and the system worked! I then enabled DirectX audio again and it didn't, so I reloaded the DirectX drivers. This seems to have cured the problem. I can now record and play back audio with no problems. I did notice that, after I had used Anvil Studio and encountered the problem, when I came to use any other piece of software which used my sound card, I was told that it was already in use and I had to reboot. Now, though everything is ok.
Thanks for your very prompt attention to my trouble which was obviously due to some kind of glitch with DirectX and NOT your software. Regards
Steve Price


One thing that I forgot to explain. I'm looking for a mid editor for a long time. Tested about 4 four of them. Anvil Studio was the most friendly one. Thanks for your good job.
Martins - ( Sao Paulo / Brazil )


It's working. Hallelujah! I must say, I'm impressed with the way you do your business. It seems like you actually want to help somebody.
Thank you very much
Mickey Holiday


Your software is just what I have been looking for and I will certainly help spread the word. I'll check with your site frequently for future upgrades. Now... do you have any suggestions for getting band members to show up for practice?
You've got a great program. Please keep me advised of upgrades and additions.
Dan Schultz


Anvil Studio has opened a new horizon for us to use midi composers in Indian Classical compositions. I have adopted "Get to Know MIDI better" as my new approach to Indian Classical Music compositions/emulations, and I thank Anvil Studio for the wonderful opportunity.
Further, since Anvil Studio Freeware is available free on the web, I am going to recomment some more of my contemporaries who are serious into Classical music, to visit your site for this free down load.
Dash Kayvee, Bangalore, South India


Great for people wanting to get their feet wet with MIDI. I am a technology coordinator for a school, and I was tasked with finding a MIDI authoring program for our music lab because the popular programs were too expensive. For student use (or for an adult like me who likes music and knows computers but has limited MIDI experience) I think this is a great way to get familiar with MIDI authoring. I definitely like the free basic program accompanied by the option of buying enhancements. Sure beats nagware or limited-time trials.
Pete Z.


I have now added the upgrade to the program and all works fine. I am very happy with it. I can now practice my singing with pleasing accompaniment, my keyboard armed with your most excellent program (my playing is dreadful). I thank you for your help and appreciate the service and expertise that you have provided.
Regards Peter Eller


I want to tell you that this program is THE program I've waited for so long! And the best thing is that it's a freeware. Really, REALLY good work!!!! It's the best program I've ever had! Thank you so much!
JF Lamy, Quebec/Canada


I had no trouble installing the print module, and it seems to print fine on my computer. The first time ever with all the music programs I have used over the years! Thank you so much!
L. Dollahite


Thanks guys, that worked perfect. I didn't even realize I could highlight both staves at once. This is very helpful, and really fast too. You guys are great. thanks again.
Lee Warden


I have just downloaded and tried your anvil studio, which seems to be the best and most idiot friendly program I have found. I think it promises to be everything I have been looking for.
Thanks for writing such a good program,
Bob Thomas






Please add your own comments to this page


If you would like to add your comments to this page, please email them to: feedback@AnvilStudio.com



Copyright © 1997-2017 by Willow Software.